WUSTL School of Medicinesfb889

Ribbon Synapses Seminar Series 2021

Program

Latest update: June 8th, 2021

Session one - April 22nd, 2021


(15:00 – 16:00 CET / 09:00 - 10:00 CDT)

Musical prelude by Empire Wild and Q&A session with the musicians
Sponsored by 3Brain


(16:00 – 16:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Tobias Moser, 'Mechanisms of sound intensity encoding: what heterogeneous afferent synapses and neurons are good for'


(17:00 – 17:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Katja Bleckmann, 'Behavioral, physiological, and anatomical assessment of the hearing performance in Bl/6.CAST mice missing the glutathione peroxidase 1' (short talk)


(17:25 – 18:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Ruth Anne Eatock, 'Seeking balance: Quantal and non-quantal transmission from vestibular hair cells to afferents'

Session two - April 15th, 2021


(16:00 – 17:00 CET / 09:00 - 10:00 CDT)

Musical prelude by Mike Weis, Q&A session with the musician


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Fred Rieke, 'Synaptic nonlinearities and the coding of natural visual inputs'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Jeffrey N. Savas, 'Cochlear Proteostasis in Noise Induced Hearing Disorders' (short talk)


(18:25 – 19:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

M. Charles Liberman, 'Cochlear synaptopathy in noise-induced and age-related hearing loss'

Session three - April 28th, 2021


(16:00 – 17:00 CET / 09:00 - 10:00 CDT)

Musical prelude by Kingston Hythe, Q&A session with the musician


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Elisabeth Glowatzki, 'Resolution of subcomponents of synaptic release from postsynaptic currents at inner hair cell ribbon synapses'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Brikha R. Shrestha, 'Molecular basis of spiral ganglion neuron diversity: a developing story' (short talk)


(18:25 – 19:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Daniel Kerschensteiner, 'Local input processing and dual transmitter release of retinal interneuron dendrites'

Session four - May 12th, 2021


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Thomas Coate, 'Mechanisms of SGN wiring and firing during ribbon synapse development'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Angela Ballesteros, 'Exploring the Functional Implications of the Structural Relationship Between TMC1 and TMEM16 proteins' (short talk)


(18:20 – 19:25 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Maria (Lania) E. Rubio, 'Molecular Structure of Auditory Nerve Synapses in the Normal Hearing and in the Hearing Impaired'

Session five - May 27th, 2021


(16:00 – 17:00 CET / 09:00 - 10:00 CDT)

Musical prelude by Trio Gaia, Q&A session with the musicians


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Henrique von Gersdorff, 'Quantal size and quantal content at a ribbon synapse'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Qiuxiang Zhang, 'Visualizing hair cell spontaneous activity in zebrafish during ribbon synapse formation' (short talk)


(18:25 – 19:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Anna Lysakowski, 'Mitochondria in the service of hair cells'

Session six - June 9th, 2021


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Maria Eugenia Gomez-Casati, 'The Role of the Medial Olivocochlear System in Noise-induced and Age-related Cochlear Synaptopathy'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Lingchao Ji, 'Inner hair cell synapse number influences auditory processing' (short talk)


(18:25 – 19:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Shigeki Watanabe, 'Spatial and temporal control of synaptic transmission'

Session seven - June 24th, 2021


(16:00 – 17:00 CET / 09:00 - 10:00 CDT)

Musical prelude by Doug Bistrow, Q&A session with the musician


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Fujun Luo, 'Neurexins orchestrate active zone signalings at central synapses'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Julia Wittgenstein, 'A different perspective on Bassoon mutant mice: Divergent phenotypes challenge established Bassoon functions' (short talk)


(18:25 – 19:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Steven H. DeVries, 'Design of the mammalian cone photoreceptor synapse'

Session eight - July 7th, 2021


(17:00 – 17:25 CET / 10:00 - 10:25 CDT)

Régis Nouvian, 'Mouse model of the human progressive hearing loss DFNA25'


(17:30 – 17:50 CET / 10:30 - 10:50 CDT)

Norbert Babai, 'Cav3.2 T-type calcium channels modulate function in mammalian cone photoreceptors' (short talk)


(17:55 – 18:50 CET / 10:55 - 11:50 CDT)

Katie Kindt, 'Lighting up ribbon synapse function in zebrafish'

Session nine - July 22nd, 2021


(17:00 – 17:55 CET / 10:00 - 10:55 CDT)

Peter Lukasiewicz, 'EAAT5 glutamate transporter function in the vertebrate retina'


(18:00 – 18:20 CET / 11:00 - 11:20 CDT)

Greg Perrin, 'Gain control at retinal bipolar cell synapses' (short talk)


(18:25 – 19:20 CET / 11:25 - 12:20 CDT)

Richard H. Kramer, 'Reversing physiological remodeling of the retina to rescue vision in degenerative blindness'